Different Diffs

Technical advice Q&A

Topic author
lyons
Great Britain

#1 Different Diffs

Post by lyons » Mon Aug 14, 2017 2:24 pm

Can anyone tell me if a XJ series 3 limited slip diff will fit in an e type cage.

If not, can someone explain what are the differences are !

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

christopher storey
Great Britain

#2 Re: Different Diffs

Post by christopher storey » Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:57 pm

I am not an expert on this, but I have no reason to believe that an XJ diff cannot be fitted into an E. However, I have some recollection that there are differences in the caliper mountings which have to be accommodated, so I don't think it is a straightforward swap. The ratio is also fractionally different IIRC 3.06 rather than 3.07. Peter Crespin is probably your best bet for definitive information

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

JagWaugh
Switzerland

#3 Re: Different Diffs

Post by JagWaugh » Mon Aug 14, 2017 7:28 pm

The Diff unit itself can be swapped into the E pumpkin - this means your inner fulcrums, output shafts, and caliper mounts all stay the same.

If you want to fit the brake calipers from the SIII XJ to the '60s diff casing you need to grind some meat off the calipers to get past a web (do this before you have the calipers plated or rebuilt).

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

44DHR
Great Britain

#4 Re: Different Diffs

Post by 44DHR » Mon Aug 14, 2017 7:29 pm

Irrespective of the diff itself, the lower fulcrum brackets bolted to the diff would need to be E Type ones, as the XJ ones would be a different angle and offset so would not fit the E Type cage.
Regards,
Dave
Dave Rose
1967 Series 1 4.2 FHC

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

PeterCrespin
United States of America

#5 Re: Different Diffs

Post by PeterCrespin » Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:03 am

What year is the S3 XJ?