Wipers

Talk about the E-Type Series 2

Topic author
TomD
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:30 pm
Great Britain

#1 Wipers

Post by TomD » Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:12 pm

Hi
My wipers only work on one speed. Could that be the switch, or is it likely to be something else.
Thanks
Tom

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links


johnetype
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 11:54 pm
Location: Worcestershire
Great Britain

#2 Re: Wipers

Post by johnetype » Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:27 pm

Please be more specific. Only slow speed or only fast speed? Same speed whichever position the wiper switch is in? Engine running or engine off?
John

1969 Series 2 FHC

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links


Topic author
TomD
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:30 pm
Great Britain

#3 Re: Wipers

Post by TomD » Mon Aug 13, 2018 8:12 pm

Only slow speed. Stops on fast speed. Engine running or full ignition on.
Thanks

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar

mach2andy
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 9:31 am
Great Britain

#4 Re: Wipers

Post by mach2andy » Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:40 am

Hi Tom
I've just been testing my wiper motor on the bench, and I found that it only worked on on slow speed. By fiddling around, I found that it was the switch that was at fault. The new switch was less than £20 so maybe that would be the place to start?
ATB
Andy
Andy Chalmers [in Hove]
1970 S2 FHC in pieces
1965 SB Corvette Ragtop

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar

malcolm
Posts: 1201
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:44 am
Location: Fleet
Great Britain

#5 Re: Wipers

Post by malcolm » Tue Aug 14, 2018 9:42 am

I had exactly the same problem. It was the switch. After cleaning and repeated on/offs, it started working again, and has ever since.
Malcolm
I only fit in a 2+2, so got one!
1969 Series 2 2+2
2009 Jaguar XF-S

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links


johnetype
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 11:54 pm
Location: Worcestershire
Great Britain

#6 Re: Wipers

Post by johnetype » Tue Aug 14, 2018 10:22 am

If you have a multimeter connect it to the yellow/light green wire at the back of the wiper switch and earth.

If you get 12 volts or so when you select fast speed on the wiper switch then the problem lies with the motor or the wiring to it. If you don't see 12 volts, replace the switch as Andy suggests.
John

1969 Series 2 FHC

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links


Topic author
TomD
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:30 pm
Great Britain

#7 Re: Wipers

Post by TomD » Tue Aug 14, 2018 1:44 pm

Thanks for the suggestions - I will look this evening

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic