V12 not running right - new SNG Barrat ignition

Talk about the E-Type Series 3

Topic author
rycymru
United States of America

#1 V12 not running right - new SNG Barrat ignition

Post by rycymru » Wed Jul 03, 2019 2:55 pm

1973 E-type v12 Roadster, manual, with 87k miles, owned for the past 6 years. I'll try and be thorough and give as much information and background about my E-type not running right.

I've been working on cars for over 10 years; rebuilding engines, suspension, transmission, electics, etc on Land Rovers, Audi's, and modern Jaguars. But my experience with carb and distributor cars is limited to my 1973 e-type, and i need a bit of help and advice.

After 18 months-2 years of sitting in the garage, i have the time again to get the jag up and running (clogged radiator, hot start issue and then no start issue when parked). I just replaced the ignition system with the SNG Barratt kit. I followed the manual and set the fine adjuster in the middle of adjustment before installing the distributor at 12 degrees BTDC.

The car will start with the full choke on but i need to keep my foot on the throttle for it to stay running for a few minutes until it warms up, otherwise the rpm will drop and then die. After 5-10 min or so, i checked the timing at 700-800rpm (vaccum port on distributor is capped), it was at 28 degrees BTDC, so i adjusted the fine adjustment, but it reached the end of travel and the car is at 18 degrees BTDC at idle. When revving to 3000, the timing is at 26-28 degrees BTDC. The large rebuild manual i have says idle timing should be 4 degrees ATDC, which doesn't sound right. What should the timing be at idle? I can always remove the distributor and reset the adjustment screw before setting it at 12 degrees BTDC static again.

When revving the engine it seems to hesitate until the engine hits 2k rpm, then after that it revs like it should up to 4-5k rpm. Also, it doesn't have much power under load. I haven't driven it outside my driveway.