New member - first foray into classics

Introduce yourself and find help on using our Forum.

Topic author
Stuart.C
Great Britain

#1 New member - first foray into classics

Post by Stuart.C » Mon Feb 28, 2022 5:15 pm

Evening all - another new member here having just picked up an S2 2+2 this weekend. Whilst I've never really been one for new cars, this is by far the earliest car I've ever had/driven despite always being a fan of classics.

I'm a mechanical engineer by background (not that I am an engineer by profession sadly) so tend to do 99% of my own work on my vehicles so hoping this forum will provide the help I will inevitably need on the E-Type.

My era has mainly been one of early 90's Japanese cars so I'm very familiar with rust.

Before its pointed out - I know I really should change the plate back to the original square.
Stuart
1970 S2 2+2 | 2001 DB7 Vantage | 2002 911 C4S | 1993 Skyline R33
1991 CRX Vtec | 2013 RS4 Avant

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

Gfhug
Great Britain

#2 Re: New member - first foray into classics

Post by Gfhug » Mon Feb 28, 2022 5:54 pm

Stuart, welcome to the best place for all things E Type, ask questions, search here for previous answers to similar topics and you’ll get friendly help and advice.
NO! Don’t change the number plate for the square one, they look hideous. Now you’ve got the oblong one the thing to do is get rid of the wheelbarrow exhaust tailpipes. Easily done and makes the car much nicer to look at. For you and the drivers behind.

Please add your name and car type to the signature area, it helps people address you correctly (though your user name is good there) and if we can see which car you’ve got then answering questions is so much easier.

Have fun

Geoff
S2 FHC Light Blue
S2 OTS LHD - RHD full restoration

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

JerryL770
Great Britain

#3 Re: New member - first foray into classics

Post by JerryL770 » Mon Feb 28, 2022 7:45 pm