Serie 1 Roadster advice

Talk about the E-Type Series 1

Topic author
Furbz
South Africa

#1 Serie 1 Roadster advice

Post by Furbz » Thu Dec 08, 2022 9:49 am

Hi All,

I am contemplating purchasing a series 1 Roadster.
the car in question was driven up from Cape Town to Johannesburg - unfortunately the gearbox did not have any oil in it and is now toast.
the car now has the engine out and gearbox out (all original)

the dealership is likely going to replace the gearbox for the 5 speed version and sell the car with the original gearbox included.

i went to view the car yesterday and was able to snap a few pictures

the following pics are to show the car off. below these will be pics of problem areas i have identified.
as i am new to this trade i need assistance in knowing how big an issue these problems really are and appreciate all advice given.

now the pics of issues i found:
Small hole in the soft top - not to worried about this

Massive gap between the soft top and the windshield - not really an issue but would expect this can be set. the rubbers all around this car are all in need of replacement.

The next few pics are of the engine. gaskets will all be replaced. what i am worried about is the massive build up of rust inside the engine. take a look at the lower pictures. not sure if this is a deal breaker or not? but i am really worried that the holes are no longer uniform - ie there is significant rusting

Just showing the state of the rubbers. this has just pulled away, but many have perished entirely

Small scratches in the light housing

Small bump on the bonnet

Ok the next few are of the passenger side of the car. below the battery box is a lot of rust issues.
you can also clearly see 2 lines downward and across - i expect this might be from a previous fix? there is also plenty rust issues under the battery area.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

mgcjag
Great Britain

#2 Re: Serie 1 Roadster advice